The Ever-hastening Decline of Tradition and Standards

There is no escape, the football club we love is broken and there is currently nobody around willing or able to fix it.

 

We awake this morning to news that the team went back to Ibrox for a “party” after another embarrassing performance and humiliating defeat. I can’t help but feel that the Club founded by the Gallant Pioneers and built by Struth is dormant. The traditions, standards and virtues exuded since our inception are asleep, replaced by mediocrity, carelessness and down-right negligence.

 

I watched as our manager interviewed the last true Ranger at our great club , Sandy Jardine, just a few days ago and whilst gushing with pride that the Club referred to by this integrous man was Rangers, I was reminded of that interview after yesterday’s match and couldn’t help but feel sadness and anger. The Club I supported yesterday was Rangers, but the team on the park and management team in the dugout did not act or perform like Rangers. They could have turned up in green and white hoops yesterday and it would have felt equally foreign.

 

The ringing question I have today is why our team have abandoned the very basic principles entailed in being a Ranger? I saw no desire. I saw no belief. I saw no swagger. I saw three guys standing in the “technical” area with their arms folded waiting until the 60 minute mark to make the inevitable and obvious substitution. I saw a team who turned up trying not to lose, and in the process failing to win. I saw no indication that our manager will ever be able to do it at a higher stage. I saw no attempt to rectify, only subsequent belittlement of the scale of underachievement, and ultimately, I, along with everyone watching, saw that our club needs meaningful change to prevent further decline.

One thought on “The Ever-hastening Decline of Tradition and Standards

Leave a comment